2016: the year of death

My grandfather died in July. My dad in September and my Great Aunt last night. It’s as if the entire Schrott side is being wiped out all at once. They all had cancer and we knew their time was short, but this is just…. [there are no words]. I haven’t seen Aunt Laverne in about 6 years. And the last time we did, it was tragic. She had dementia, it was December and her house was frigid and she thought that I was my dad. We tried to fix her furnace for her but to little avail. She practically raised my dad when my grandmother died back in the 50s. There was always this idea that my dad would go back to Johnstown and fix up her house in her old age. I can’t remember if my dad ever actually said that or if it was my mom pontificating for him. But it was an idea I liked. It of course, never happened. Life is just way too un-neat for that.

Author: thephonewasmadeofjelly

reviving xanga thru wordpress (2002-the present).

Leave a Reply

